Concreting the Statue

Sorry for the long break between posts – I haven’t been in the right frame of mind to write.

The class has been great fun, and over three lessons, I finished the statue.

I had to make some changes – she ended up wearing a long dress instead of a bikini, as the chicken wire armature was too big to allow me to shape her as I wanted – she would have had HUGE legs which would have detracted from the parts of her that were actually supposed to be huge!

And she won’t be holding a planter as her arms aren’t strong enough to hold a pot filled with soil.

Other than that, I’m happy with my first attempt…

Lesson 2

Using a wet and rough mix of concrete, small gravel, and sand (and wearing rubber gloves) we squeezed the mix into the metal armature:

Statue baseStatue bodyfinished1finished2

finished3I wasn’t too sure about her at this stage – she looked more like ET than a woman!

Lesson 3

This time, we wet the statue with water, brushed it with concrete glue, and started to build it up with a mix of concrete and sand (no gravel).

I soon learned that you had to do it in stages – I tried to add big boobs and a big bottom – but the concrete was too heavy, and kept sliding and falling off.

Patience, Veronique, patience.

FrontSideBackLesson 3

More water, concrete glue and concrete, this time adding bulk, shape and detail:

FrontSideBackI realised at this stage that I’d given her feet instead of hands – she has heels on her hands! Haha!

Lesson 4

To finish her off, I used medium-grade sandpaper to smooth off any rough bits, and then brushed her with cement glue to fill in small holes, and to even-out the surface:

FrontSideBackShe’s now back at home, and I’m currently painting her…once that’s done, I’ll give her a few coats of varnish, and she’ll be ready for the garden.

5 thoughts on “Concreting the Statue

Didn't find what you want? Ask me a question...

