A Broken Heart

I’m so very sad to say that Alf died suddenly last Thursday of a heart attack.

Since then, our friends, my parents Eileen and Colin, Alf’s children Daniel and Meggie, his sisters Sandra and Gillian, niece Christine, and I, have grieved together, but also celebrated the wonderfulness of Alf.

This follows, all too tragically, the death of his eldest son, Kieran, who was killed in an accident six weeks ago.

Alf died on what would have been Kieran’s 30th birthday.

For our family and friends overseas who were unable to be here with us, over the next two posts, I’d like to share a little of the past week with you. I hope you find some solace in it.

Today, Sandra, Gillian, and Christine fly back to Belfast, and on Saturday, Meggie and Daniel fly back to Perth.

The house will feel very empty.

But I know that Alf would not have wanted our lives to stop, nor for us to remain trapped in our grief.

He always encouraged us to be the best we could be, and we will all honour that.

I love you Alf. xx

14 thoughts on “A Broken Heart

  1. I’m so sorry, I will be praying for you and your family. Prayers for comfort, strength, and peace. Loss is never easy and neither is an empty house. God be with you.

  2. Oh Veronique I know only too well what it is to be broken hearted but like Alf my lovely and so badly missed Robert would not have wanted my life to stop or for me to remain locked in grief…..we have both lost our soul mates but however hard it is and it is very hard I like you will do as they would have wished…my heart goes out to you my dearest friend xxxxxxxxxxxxx

  3. Oh Ronee, I had no idea, I’m so very sorry. Thinking of you and wishing we weren’t so far away. Lots of love, Katie xxxx

  4. Ronee, just seen this. Oh god, so so sorry. Being so far away I don’t know what good this is, but if you need anything just yell. My phone number is in a message on facebook.

    Only met Alf for a little while but he was lovely. So so sorry.

    Your little bald relation in the UK. Simon xxxxxx

    • Hi Simon – Eileen emailed your dad for me, but when I spoke to him yesterday he said he was having problems with his laptop, so hadn’t seen it.
      We were looking forward to catching up with you all next year. I’ll be going to visit Alf’s sisters in Belfast next year, and am planning to come to see the three of you at the same time.
      Love you xx

  5. I am shocked at the suddenness of your loss. I have also been through this trauma when my first wife died suddenly at a young age. So I have first-hand experience of grief due to the loss of a spouse. Good to read that you had family around you. In my own experience the crunch came after everyone left and the house felt empty. It would be good if you then have a friend you can talk to. Hope you are blessed with strength in this difficult period.

Didn't find what you want? Ask me a question...

