Windchime – Part 2

Remember this from Part 1?

Old windchimeWell, it’s been sitting here, partially-completed, waiting for me to brave the curious stares of passing motorists, and gather an armful of sugarcane leaves from a nearby cane field.

Once safely home with my pilfered goodies, I cut the leaves into short lengths, and glued them onto the existing thatching:

The first layer

Gluing on the first layer

Building up the layers

Building up the layers

During this stage, I had serious doubts about my plan (and my sanity – why didn’t I just buy a new one?) as it looked like this:

Side view

Guess it’s not only me who has bad hair days!

But I persevered, and once I trimmed the bottom edge, it started to look more like the real thing:

Trimmed

Using the original bamboo ring as a cutting guide

I  wound raffia around the pointy bit to hide the rough edges:

Raffiaand then decided to paint the raffia, as it was a completely different colour to the cane leaves.

I varnished the top layer of leaves to match the body of the windchime, and finally, to give it that authentic “Mauritian thatched roof” look, I secured it with nylon bird mesh.

Bird meshIt took a while, but it was fun to do.

Back view

Back view

Front view

Front view

Besides, every garden needs a little kitsch!

3 thoughts on “Windchime – Part 2

  1. Hello,

    I am a casting producer for an American television show about people moving abroad. I came across your blog and wanted to reach out to see if you might be interested in participating in an episode of our show.

    House Hunters International tells the story of people who have picked up their lives and moved to a foreign country to pursue a new life abroad. Being on our show is a lot of fun for our participants and is a great way for them to document their search for a home. The show airs on the Home and Garden Network (HGTV) in the US and Canada and is one of the network’s highest rated programs. It also airs on the Fine Living Network and Travel Channel International.

    If you or someone you know is interested in this opportunity, please feel free to contact me for further details.

    I look forward to hearing from you soon!

    Best,

    Rebecca

    • Hi Rebecca – sorry for the delay in replying – we had some sad news from Australia and had to fly back for a little while.

      Your show does sound like fun, but as we already own a house here, we’re not suitable as participants.

      I can check with a couple of real estate agents I know for any expats who might be interested.

      Let me know if you’d like me to do that.

      Regards
      Veronique

Didn't find what you want? Ask me a question...

