Spice up Your Spice Jars

I can’t remember where I saw this idea, but I do remember thinking “How simple – why doesn’t everyone do it?”.

I store all of my herbs and spices in recycled asparagus jars (yes, I eat a lot of cheese and asparagus toasted sandwiches).

Before shot

I don’t have the jars on display, so I don’t really need to do this, I just want to – plus I have some paint left over from when I painted a napkin holder:

Napkin holder

I’m not a fan of Shabby Chic, so a quick spray, and…

Blue napkin holder

…much better!

Anyway, back to the spice jars (or any storage jars, as long as the lids are metallic).

Even if all your jars are mismatched, this will unify them, and beautify your kitchen (or in our case, the inside of our cupboard).

Alf’s shaking his head.

Anyway…

Rest the lids on wooden skewers so that they don’t stick to the newspaper (I only thought of that after I’d sprayed the first coat, and spent a few panicked minutes picking off shreds of newspaper).

LidsThen spraypaint them. Two or three light coats.

Painted lids

They’re not baby blue, I’m just a bad photographer!

Don’t get paint on the insides as:

a) they won’t screw back on properly, and

b) your herbs will taste of paint

Let them dry in a well-ventilated place, till the fumes evaporate, and the paint hardens. At least 24 hours.

In the meantime, print off some labels, glue them on to the jars, cover them with stickytape to protect them…

Attaching labelsand, voila!

After shotAs I said, simple.

Stop shaking your head at me, Alf – you’ll thank me next time you open that cupboard!

Or probably, because you’re a man, you’ll never notice the difference.

It’s a sad, but true, fact.

Universally, not Alf-specific.

6 thoughts on “Spice up Your Spice Jars

Didn't find what you want? Ask me a question...

