Toasted Muesli

Over the last few months, I’ve been buying different brands of muesli, searching for one I like.

Some have been so-so, one tasted like chopped-up cardboard, another was stale, and none have been particularly nice.

They’re also expensive, especially when they get thrown out for the birds to eat!

So after a little research, I decided to make my own.

I prefer toasted muesli to raw muesli, and I like the idea of choosing which fruit and nuts to add.

Most toasted muesli recipes have anywhere between 2 tablespoons to ¼ cup of oil added. The oil however, shortens the shelf-life (I suppose it goes rancid), so although I added 1 tablespoon of oil to the first batch I made, I decided to omit it from the second batch, and didn’t notice a difference in either taste or texture.

Basic Muesli

  • 2 cups rolled oats (oatmeal)
  • 1 cup (80g) flaked almonds, or chopped nuts of your choice
  • ½ cup shredded coconut
  • ¼ cup honey

Preheat the oven to 170°C, and line a baking tray with baking paper or foil.

Mix the dry ingredients together.

Heat the honey in the microwave for 30 seconds, or until runny. Add to the oat mixture and stir till well combined.

Pour onto the baking tray, level out, and bake for 10-12 minutes, stirring a couple of times so that it toasts evenly.

Keep an eye on it as oven temperatures vary – it’s ready when it’s golden brown.

Cool completely – it will become crunchy as it cools.

Extras

To the cooled basic muesli, add:

  • 1/3 cup ground almonds, or other meal (hazelnut, linseed etc)

and as much or as little as you like of:

  • dried fruit (sultanas, apricots, goji berries, apples, cranberries etc), chopped into small pieces, where necessary (a little goes a long way)
  • seeds (pumpkin, sunflower etc)

Mix it all well, and store in an airtight container.

After tasting the first batch, you can adjust the amount of honey to either increase or decrease the sweetness of subsequent batches.

To my first batch, I added sultanas, currants, and cranberries (because that’s what I had), and added sultanas, apricots, and apples to the second batch (because that’s what I like).

If you don’t have an oven, you could try toasting it in a heavy-based frying pan over a very low heat – you’d need to stir constantly so that it doesn’t burn. If you try this, please let me know how it goes.

I don’t know that you’ll save a fortune, but it certainly tastes a lot better than store-bought, and you can tailor it to suit your palate.

I think it’s delicious, and am never buying muesli again.

Sorry little birds!

muesli

4 thoughts on “Toasted Muesli

  1. I love muesli and it’s true they taste ‘funny’, so what I do is I add toasted almond flakes, toasted sesame seeds and dried fuits to the oats. At times, I add chopped fresh bananas or honey. It’s sOooo yummy!!!

Didn't find what you want? Ask me a question...

