Thai Chicken Mince, Chilli Poppers, Lemon Drizzle Cake

I’m going to post three recipes in a row.

Why?

Three reasons:

1. I haven’t posted anything for the last two weeks, so I think I’m allowed to post excessively

2. The first two recipes, I’ve been asked for by lots of people

3. And the third, I just found the other day, and it’s easy and delicious.

That’s why!

Plus I’m still lazing around and recovering from our flight back from Perth, so I haven’t been up to much – getting old sucks!

Thai-style Chicken

I made this for our New Year’s Day party.

The chicken was supposed to be served in wonton cups – you spray/brush wonton wrappers with oil, push them into mini muffin tins and bake them.

Maybe I bought them at the wrong shop, I don’t know, but they were covered in a huge amount of flour which I couldn’t scrape or brush off no matter how hard I tried.

I experimented with a few – the flour became really brown but stayed put – when I taste-tested (which I normally never do – this time I had to – they just looked wrong) the flour turned to burnt glue in my mouth, and the crispy wontons cut my gums and tongue to shreds.

Rubbish!

So I made 1970’s bread cups instead.

Never again!

White bread, no crusts – roll it flat with a rolling pin, cut out rounds, push them into mini muffin tins, brush with melted butter and bake at 180C.

Sounds so simple.

Well – whether it’s Mauritian sandwich bread, or it’s the humidity, but no sooner did I flatten them and brush them with garlic butter, they just puffed right back up to normal thickness!

It took me over three hours to make around 150 bread cups. Double and triple rolling. Made no difference – they just went back to their original thickness!

Then once they were cooked, because of the re-swelling, they could only hold about a teaspoon of filling.

A big waste of time, but probably great with different bread or climate.

They did taste good – crispy garlic bread.

The chicken, however, was delicious, so if I made it again, I would go the Vietnamese route – warm spoonfuls of the chicken mix, rolled up in crispy lettuce leaves.

No bleeding gums, healthy, and quick!

Ingredients

500g chicken mince (I zizzed diced chicken breast in the food processor as I haven’t found any good chicken mince here)

2 tbsp vegetable oil 2 cloves garlic, crushed

1 onion, finely diced (not in the original recipe)

A handful of green beans, finely sliced (not in the original recipe)

1 stalk lemongrass, white part finely chopped (I used 2 Kaffir limes leaves instead as I find lemongrass overpowering)

2 tsp green curry paste (not in the original recipe – but adds Thai flavour)

100ml coconut cream

3 tablespoons sweet chilli sauce

2 tablespoons fresh lime juice

1 tablespoon fish sauce

1 bunch chopped fresh coriander leaves

Heat the oil in a frypan over medium-high heat. Add the chicken mince, onion, beans, garlic and lemongrass (or limes leaves) and cook for 5 minutes or until chicken is cooked, stirring and breaking up lumps as you go.

Add curry paste and stir through. Add coconut cream, sweet chilli sauce, lime juice, and fish sauce. Cook for a couple of minutes.

Taste and adjust seasonings: fish sauce for more salt, lime juice if too sweet, sweet chilli if too salty, or curry paste for more heat. Add more coconut cream if too dry.

Remove from heat, stir through the coriander.

Easy!

Baked Curry-Chilli Poppers (as opposed to Fried Jalepeno Poppers)

Chilli poppers

Mine did NOT look so good!

I don’t eat chillis, but the second I read this recipe, I wanted to make them.

They sound delicious, and they’re not greasy like the deep-fried version.

I haven’t seen jalepenos here, but hey, Mauritian curry-chillies look similar, so they’ll do!

Click here for the recipe

My Tips

  • If you prefer a milder taste, definitely remove all seeds and membranes with a teaspoon after you’ve cut the chillies in half. And wear gloves.
  • If you’re rolling out your own puff pastry, don’t roll it thinner than 2mm, or it won’t puff up well.
  • Cut one square of pastry first to work out how big they should be – I was in a bit of a rush and cut them all out at once – all too small, so I had to stretch them to fit around the chillies. The pastry ended up way too thin.
  • Brush the pastry with a beaten egg to add colour (I didn’t, and mine were very anaemic-looking!
  • Place your oven tray towards the bottom of the oven as the chilli juices drip down, and the base of the pastry will not cook as fast as the top.
  • If you have left-over cheese mixture, spread it inside a croissant and heat in the oven at 180C for a few minutes – brunch has never tasted so good!

Lemon Drizzle Cake

Click here for the recipe

This has a beautiful soft texture and a sour bite to it. Delicious.

Next time, I’m adding ¼ cup of shredded coconut to the cake mix as I like the lemon/coconut combination.

I’ll then have to add a little more liquid – I might try orange juice. I read years ago that if you add milk to a cake batter, it doesn’t stay as fresh/moist? Could be rubbish of course – will google it first.

The icing looks a little excessive, but it works brilliantly. Keep pouring it on till you’ve used it all up!

Storage in Mauritius has to be in the fridge unless you’d like your cake to turn green within a couple of hours of being stored in an airtight container at room temperature!

However, the cake goes a little hard in the fridge, so about 5 minutes before you want to dig in, cut a slice and leave it where the ants can’t access it!

Bon appetit!

2 thoughts on “Thai Chicken Mince, Chilli Poppers, Lemon Drizzle Cake

  1. Thank you I will have a go sometime in the UK it’s our last day tomorrow ,,,, sob sob!!!! xxxxxxxxDiane

    • Already? What time are you leaving? Are you going for lunch or anything? We’re taking Steve’s wife, Sue out for lunch today as he’s working – don’t know where or what time yet – want to make it at The Vale with Alain, Robin and their rellies (if they’re free)? xx

Didn't find what you want? Ask me a question...

