The Best Pizza Dough Ever

I love homemade pizza.

And so, I’m forever trawling through cooking blogs and websites, looking for the perfect pizza dough.

I’ve tried lots of them – they’ve been either too thin, too hard, too dry, or too stodgy.

Yesterday, however, my quest came to an end:

Pizza

Courtesy howsweeteats.com

Click here for the recipe

It’s crisp on the outside, and light and fluffy on the inside. And tastes great.

I didn’t use garlic powder (had none) or dried basil (don’t like it). I also had to knead in a lot more flour as it was pretty sloppy.

The best advice I’ve read on making yeast doughs, relates to when you should stop adding extra flour whilst kneading: it’s when the dough sticks to nothing but itself. That is, it doesn’t stick to the workbench or to your hands, but still retains a slight tackiness.

It took me about 10 minutes to mix and knead the dough. It’s very simple to make, and seems pretty foolproof.

I used rapid-rise Instant Yeast so it took much less than 1 hour to double in size. Also, with Instant Yeast, you don’t have to let it sit for 10 minutes to foam up.

Last night, I used a simple topping of oregano garlic butter and grated cheddar cheese, as we were having it as an accompaniment to chilli con carne.

Garlic BreadIt was pretty thick (which was good for a garlic bread style of pizza – but very filling!), so when I make a proper pizza, I’ll halve the recipe, and just press it out more, as we prefer a thinner base with lots of topping.

I’ll also be a bit more careful with the cooking time – it got a little too brown, which meant the garlic got slightly burnt, and so was a little bitter.

But not bitter enough to stop us eating it!

I just had a slice for breakfast – it’s a little heavier than last night, but it’s still delicious.

Pizza slice

I can see a Barbeque Chicken Pizza in our near future – with BBQ sauce, pan-fried chicken, bacon, green capsicum, caramelised onion, and fresh pineapple. And lots of cheese. Mmmm!!

Didn't find what you want? Ask me a question...

