The Plants

I made a wish list, then amended it after visiting the nurseries over a few months.

Availability of plants is seasonal, so each time you visit, the selection will be slightly different.

For example, I want some heliconia – they’ll be ready in two months, as the nursery has just propagated them.

A couple of months ago, I wanted some cordylines – no-one had any.

You have to be patient. It’s the natural way of things.

Except, I want them now!!!!!!

But, on the plus side, you might find a plant that you hadn’t considered as it wasn’t there the last time you went.

Anyway, this is what I currently have planted.

(X) =  these plants don’t look tropical – they’re the Cottage garden element of the garden style

Red

  • Canna
  • Hibiscus
  • Ginger
  • Bromeliad
  • Chilli Hibiscus

Orange

  • Day lilies
  • Heliconia
  • Other lilies
  • Marigolds (X)
  • Bougainvillea

White

  • Gardenia
  • Cape Jasmine
  • Spider lilies
  • Easter lilies
  • Madagascan Frangipani

Pink

  • Geraniums (X)
  • Medinilla
  • Frangipani
  • Bromeliads
  • Bougainvillea
  • Anthurium

Blue/Purple

  • Ruellia
  • Agapanthus (X)
  • Tibouchina (shrub) (X)

Foliage

  • Dracaena
  • Cordyline
  • Chocolate Bush
  • Bamboo
  • Croton
  • Moses in a cradle
  • Agave
  • Mother-in-laws tongues
  • Zigzag plant
  • Ornamental banana

Groundcover

  • Butternut pumpkin (X)
  • Spider plants

Palms

  • Rodrigues or Spindle
  • Golden Cane
  • Veitchia

Fruit

  • Black mulberry (X)
  • Pawpaw
  • Strawberries (X)
  • Passionfruit vine
  • Lemon (X)
  • Lime (X)
  • Pineapple

Plus a few other things I don’t know the name of.

It looks impressive on paper, but keep in mind that they’re teeny, tiny, wee things.

8 thoughts on “The Plants

  1. Hello,

    Hope you are well, I was directed here by Good guy Gices from cleverDodo.
    I am in search of NightJasmine plant. Could you help please?

    • Hi there – I know the nursery at Laboudaonnais has jasmine – just not sure of the variety. If they don’t have what you’re looking for, the guys at Renaissance nursery in Goodlands are very good, and if they don’t have it, will either tell you that it can’t be found in Mauritius, or which nursery does stock it. Good luck!

      On Fri, Feb 7, 2014 at 3:59 PM, My Mauritian Garden wrote:

      >

    • Hi again – I was just looking at the Vaneron Garden Centre website, and they claim to have night blooming jasmine – they are in Trianon.

      On Mon, Feb 10, 2014 at 4:44 PM, Veronique Lennon wrote:

      > Hi there – I know the nursery at Laboudaonnais has jasmine – just not sure > of the variety. If they don’t have what you’re looking for, the guys at > Renaissance nursery in Goodlands are very good, and if they don’t have it, > will either tell you that it can’t be found in Mauritius, or which nursery > does stock it. Good luck! > > > On Fri, Feb 7, 2014 at 3:59 PM, My Mauritian Garden comment-reply@wordpress.com> wrote: > >>

      • Good morning,

        I found the plant on site, I shall visit them soon.

        I am preparing a backyard orchard.. if you got any fruit plants to share/exchange, please do let me know.

        sufi.garden@yahoo.com

  2. Again – great post!
    Would you know if I can grow a mullberry tree in a pot? I feel sad that I’m unable to grow anything in the ground, due to lack of space, and would love to have some homegrown fruit to eat!

    Also, how are your gardenias coming up? They have been on my wishlist for a while.

    • I was planning on growing the mulberry in a pot as I don’t want a massive tree in the garden. Not much information on the internet, but I did find (no idea where) that mulberries in the tropics don’t become huge, and are evergreen (don’t know how accurate this info is!). So I ended up planting it in the ground – if it gets too big, I’ll prune it (or dig it out!). However, to answer your question, I say (with no guarantee!), go ahead and plant it in a large pot (one where the top is wider than its base – so if you have to repot it, you can remove it without having to smash the pot. Also, you’ll need to keep it well-watered. Either way, they’re pretty cheap, so if it doesn’t work out, you won’t have lost anything. One last thing – make sure you cover the drainage holes in the pot with weed mat or shadecloth to stop the roots from growing into the ground. Good luck!

Didn't find what you want? Ask me a question...

