Our Farewells

Sandra and Gillian

Alf was a man of many parts, or talents, as he would say.

He was an advisor, a confidante, a friend, and an inspiration, not only to his family, but to everyone he met.

He gave his loyalty, his trust, his understanding, and his compassion, freely and often.

We feel proud, grateful, and very blessed, to have shared our lives with such an exceptional person.

All our love till we meet again.

Meggie

He was always a pillar of strength, an understanding and empathetic listener.

An inspirational mentor, a comforting shoulder, innovative thinker, and woe unto anyone who tried to hurt the ones he loves.

He certainly lived a full and amazing life, learning and gathering wisdom from every experience, he enjoyed the pursuit of knowledge.

He pursued his dreams and followed his heart with determination. He valued respect, honesty, integrity and personified wisdom.

A beautiful heart, a courageous soul, and a shining light in the darkness.

Daniel

Today I say goodbye to my hero, my mentor and my best friend.

It’s difficult to find words that can do justice to explain the wonderful man that my father was.

He touched everyone he met – whether it was with his sense of humour, his endearing charm, or his positive attitude towards life, he always found a way to make people smile.

His infectious personality, his encouragement to succeed, and his endless words of wisdom, will stay with me forever and help me to make the right decisions in life.

He was always there for me – he taught me how to crawl, how to walk and more importantly – how to live life to the fullest, and have no regrets.

Dad – I will always miss you, always love you and I hope you find peace in the place you have found to rest.

Me

Alf’s goal in life was to make me happy, and not a day passed when I wasn’t in his thoughts, and that he didn’t find something, no matter how small, that would make me smile.

His love was unconditional, and there for the world to see.

My strongest wish is that his children Daniel and Meggie experience a love like ours.

When you left me Alf, I lost more than a husband, I lost my best friend.

I love you and one day we’ll be together again.

Till then you’ll always be in my heart.

Just married

Just married

2 thoughts on “Our Farewells

  1. Dear Veronique,
    So sorry about your loss. I have been following your blog for the last few months and your sadness in the last few weeks and I thought I had to say how sorry I was when you told us about your loss last week.
    Take care annd God bless you.
    Alain

    Like

    • Thank you, Alain – now that the shock is over, an unbelievable sadness is setting in. It’s hard to breathe.
      Working on the garden, and finishing the plans that Alf and I made together will help me relax, and still feel close to him.
      I’m taking a break from the blog for a short while, but I will be back.
      Thanks again for your kind words.
      Veronique

      Like

Please leave a comment.